Copy Your Hero Assignment

Standard

untitled (5) Beckswimbledon

My hero that I would like to copy something from is David Beckham. David Beckham was born on May 2, 1975 in London, England. He played soccer for twenty years, starting at the age of 17, and played for seven different soccer teams: Manchester United, Preston North End, Real Madrid, Milan, Los Angeles Galaxy, Paris Saint-Germain, and the England national team. He has been married to Victoria Beckham since 1999 and he has four children. Beckham has appeared in three FIFA World Cups (1998, 2002, 2006) and two UEFA European Championships (2000, 2004). In 2004, David Beckham was named in the FIFA 100 List of the World’s Greatest Living Players and he played his final game of his twenty year career on May 18, 2013, retiring at the end of the 2012-2013 season. David Beckham is well known for his range of passing and his bending of free kicks. The phrase “Bend it like Beckham” is well known because Beckham was insanely good at making the ball bend in mid-air when he would take free kicks.

David Beckham set quite a number of records in his soccer career. He was the first Englishman to win league titles in four different countries: England, Spain, USA, and France. He was also the first England player to score a goal at three World Cups. Beckham was the first British footballer to play 100 Championship League games and was third in the Premier League’s all-time time assist provider chart, with 152 assists in 265 appearances. Throughout his career as a soccer player, he scored a huge total of 129 goals within his 719 appearances out on the field, whether League or International. He scored 85 goals while apart of Manchester United, 20 goals while apart of Real Madrid, 2 goals while apart of Milan, and 20 goals while apart of Los Angeles Galaxy.

The one thing I really want to copy from David Beckham is his incredible soccer skills. I want to be able to become like he was, but personalize and tailor what he did to better fit me and my playing ability. He is the main reason that I want to become a better soccer player and perhaps play professionally once I’m older. I’ve looked up to him as a role model for the longest time and I’ve gone and seen him play for LA Galaxy in person as one of the ball boys that stand around the sidelines with a ball in case the ball they are playing with goes too far off the field. During this time that I was a ball boy, I actually got to throw a ball directly to David Beckham himself and it was and still is one of the coolest moments of my entire life. His control on the ball was phenomenal and I want to be able to emulate those skills in my life as a soccer player myself so I can become better at the game and ultimately become a pro one day and make it to the World Cup and win. I will be different from him because I will change what he did and apply the basic concept on how to do it to me and I will create my own course of action in order to recreate what he has done and ultimately make it better than he ever could. I want to be one of the players that goes down in history as one of the greatest living players in the world.

imagesZJZKQ751 imagesMMJP9PNP images8F7C0965 images2ZYLF8NI images

All of the information was found at this web address: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Beckham

Leave a Reply

